Posted by: mattcolvin | April 7, 2014

Logos Anglican Packages


I’ve been fortunate to be chosen as a reviewer for one of Logos Bible Software’s recently released Anglican packages. The one I’m reviewing includes a nice mix of modern and ancient Anglican sources – the Venerable Bede, the Cloud of Unknowing (source of our beloved Collect for Purity!), the five-volume set of 96 sermons by Lancelot Andrewes, and David Bartlett’s “Fasting on the Word” (a 12 volume sermon series following the Revised Common Lectionary). Anglo-Catholic writers are well represented, with John Mason Neale’s commentary on the Psalms and John Henry Newman’s Parochial and Plain Sermons and The Idea of a University. Classical Caroline Anglicanism is here too, with the works of William Law and Richard Hooker.There is Bp. Blunt’s Annotated Book of Common Prayer and the (grisly sounding) Remains of Thomas Cranmer.

“Blessed Percy” Dearmer is there, with his Everyman’s History of the Prayer Book and Everyman’s History of the English Church. There is lots of J.C. Ryle, especially his Expository Thoughts series.

Of course, being an Anglican collection, there are editions of the Book of Common Prayer. Lots of them, in fact: the 1979 TEC version, the 1662 with Psalter; the 1928; and even – Lord love Logos! – the 1873 original Reformed Episcopal BCP. There is even, sticking out like a black sheep among all the BCPs, The Liturgy of John Knox, 1564.

I am especially excited to see the Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church, a work I have been told many times I ought to own and consult, but have never got around to obtaining.

I admit I don’t know where to begin. This is a rather huge library, dumped into my Logos account, and full of useful items.

Responses

  1. […] Future of the People of God. I am very thankful for ebooks: Logos Library also picked me as a reviewer for their Anglican Silver package, so now I have access to a lot of books that would be difficult […]

  2. […] Future of the People of God. I am very thankful for ebooks: Logos Library also picked me as a reviewer for their Anglican Silver package, so now I have access to a lot of books that would be difficult […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 664 other followers