Posted by: taliac | March 1, 2009

Somewhat Appalling


Today, I happened to be making supper while Isaiah was eating yogurt at the kitchen table. I was peeling potatoes and listening to my iPod without a care in the world when I heard a voice behind me.

“Ya-Ya,” It said calmly, “Look at this.”

I turned to see my darling little brother spreading his strawberry yogurt around, with a carefully controlled circular motion, no less,  on the table. Already the mess covered about two square feet – believe me, I’m not exaggerating.

“What on earth are you doing, Isaiah?”

He replied matter-of-factly, the look on his face clearly showing how obvious he thought it: “But Ya-Ya, I’m just making a big mess over here.”

I could see that quite plainly. “Isaiah, go to the bathroom and wash your hands. Then you are going to clean all of that up.”

He looked at me, his face slightly puzzled, his eyes wide: “But Ya-Ya…YOU are gonna clean it up!”

We soon set that little point straight.


Responses

  1. Oh, that little rascal! Now where did he learn that?!!
    Somehow he has listened to other folks being disciplined for such behavior and concluded he was too special to experience any penalty for misbehavior. He was not even trying to be secretive like Naomi with the purple crayon on the dining room wall! That must be an ornery age for the Colvin toddlers.

  2. Isaiah apparently thinks he knows the divine secrets of the Ya-Ya sisterhood.

    Oh, and Mom, Hosanna is stomping around the house in her own pair of “little red shoes.” You know what that means…


Leave a Reply

Categories