Posted by: mattcolvin | January 19, 2010

Venn Diagram on Church Praxis


I discovered this old thing on my hard drive. Not sure if I agree with it completely anymore, but I evidently devoted a bit of time to puzzling it out. It’s especially interesting to me because I have been both more or less Puritan and more or less Anglican in my thinking at different times.

It’s evidently still a work in progress. Some questions that occur to me now:

Where are vestments?

Where is sex?

Where is episcopacy?

Where is the Lord’s Supper? Baptism?

Should the “Jure Divino” circle be coterminous with the “esse” circle?

Should the entire “esse” circle be included in the “bene esse” circle?

Can there be anything in the “esse” circle” that is “temporary, non-abiding”?

Can there be anything in the “jure humano” circle that is NOT “temporary, non-abiding”?


Leave a Reply

Categories