Posted by: mattcolvin | March 29, 2010

Osmiroid Pens


I just took delivery of a new Osmiroid 75 piston-fill calligraphy pen that I bought on eBay ($20). It comes with 6 gold nibs (Fine, Medium, B, B2, B3, B4) that are also usable on my Osmiroid 65 lever-fill pen and my old Esterbrook Dollar Pen. Both pens write like a dream — so much nicer than my 3 old Sheaffer calligraphy pens. I filled them with Noodlers Hunter Green and the Diamine orange that I use for grading.

I really enjoy both fountain pens and calligraphy. I am currently a month late in replying to a former student who sent me some pen-and-ink correspondence. Unfortunately, I won’t be able to do much calligraphy or letter-writing tonight. The only use the Diamine orange is going to see today is grading student papers.


Responses

  1. Why orange and not red?

  2. Deb, I just liked the look of the orange in the store. It’s very bright and a beautiful shade. I bought it for calligraphy, and only used it for grading because I don’t have any red.

    I’d like to get some more bottles of Diamine ink. I’d like to get a maroon, a light green, and a brown.

    I also use black Quink, of course.

  3. […] the parent who does take pictures? He takes pictures of things like his diecast car models and calligraphy pens. Instead of his cute […]

  4. You have a very skilled hand.

    By the way, how did those Hero pens work out? I have been thinking of getting a few on Ebay.

  5. You have a very skillful hand.

    By the way, how did you like the Hero fountain pens that you mentioned previously? I was thinking of trying one from Ebay.

    • The Heros turned out to be fake fakes. They’re actually Wen Feng copies of Hero 616’s, which are themselves copies of the Parker 51.

      They write OK. Scratchy, and cheap-feeling. I use them for grading papers, but I don’t think I’m going to buy any more of them.

      I did purchase a 1948 Parker 51 for a friend recently. Am thinking of getting a second for myself, to load with colored ink for grading.

  6. I don’t care for the look of the all metallic cap of the Parker 51. In this case, what would you recommend with a fine nib?

    • I’m not really that knowledgeable about alternatives to the 51, Jeff. It just writes so much better than any other pen I’ve used.

      If you like a more decorative, non-metal barrel and cap, then maybe check out Esterbrooks. I like my Esterbrook dollar pen, though I only have calligraphy nibs for it.


Leave a Reply

Categories