Posted by: mattcolvin | November 12, 2011

Blogging the REC Lectionary


As of last Saturday, I have become a postulant for diaconal orders in the Reformed Episcopal Church.

One of the things that comes with being a deacon is a duty to read the Daily Office (from the Latin officium, duty), or Morning and Evening Prayer. This is a way for ministers to stay immersed in the Scriptures on a daily basis.

I will be blogging the lectionary, a day in advance. I hope that by being a day ahead of the church calendar, my jottings will be of service to the ministers and laity of our parish in their own devotions or following of the Daily Office. I will be skipping Sundays for two reasons: partly because the Sunday readings are not in continuity with the other 6 days; partly because there are too many Sunday readings for me to blog them without weariness and burn-out.

Those of you who have read my thoughts on this blog (especially the “Bible” category) will know what to expect. I read the Scriptures from an evangelical Protestant perspective, shaped by the New Perspective on Paul and a careful consideration of the original languages. My Hebrew is far inferior to my Greek right now, but that will change. Among those who have shaped me as a reader of Scripture, the most important are N.T. Wright, David Daube, and Peter Leithart.

Sometimes I will have many things to say, sometimes only a brief note. Sometimes I will blog on all the readings for a given day, sometimes only for one or two.


Responses

  1. Congratulations Matt! We need more, many more, like you.

  2. That’s wonderful! We’ll be praying for you all.

  3. Hi Matt,

    I understand there are several versions of the Book of Common Prayer. Which one would you recommend to me? I’d like to start a journey with it.

    • We use the Reformed Episcopal BCP, which I believe contains the liturgy of 1662, including the Black Rubric. I don’t have much experience of other versions.

  4. Many thanks. I’ll look at it.


Leave a Reply

Categories