Posted by: mattcolvin | November 21, 2011

Luke 18:1-17: Jesus’ Sense of Humor


Just one more note on Luke 18:1-17: I have noticed something about Jesus’ sense of humor. I’m not surer what to call it, but it reminds me of the story my wife has often told about Talia, who, as a toddler, replied to a stranger who told her on the bus that she had “Such beautiful blonde hair” with the matter-of-fact reminder, “And blue eyes, too.” (I may have misquoted her. If so, Sora will tell me.) I think we see a bit of this humor in the line Jesus puts in the mouth of the unjust judge:

“And he would not for a while; but afterward he said within himself, ‘Though I do not fear God nor regard man, yet because this widow troubles me I will avenge her, lest by her continual coming she weary me.’ ” (Luke 18:4, 5 NKJV)

Is there similar humor in the fellow who wants to build bigger barns? Consider:

And I will say to my soul, “Soul, you have many goods laid up for many years; take your ease; eat, drink, and be merry.” ’ (Luke 12:19 NKJV)

I think the best label for this sort of humor might be “Sinful creatures say the darnedest things.” There may be affection behind it.


Leave a Reply

Categories