Posted by: mattcolvin | March 15, 2012

More David Daube coming!


20120315-131042.jpg

I had thought that the four volumes of the Collected Works of David Daube that I have on my shelf were all there was to read of him. It turns out I was mistaken.

First, his pupil Calum Carmichael has edited his Gifford Lectures. I have the first of these volumes, The Deed and the Doer in the Bible, but there is another one, Law and Wisdom in the Bible, which I hope to obtain soon.

Even more exciting is the realization, from the online preface to the latter book, that Prof. Carmichael is still working on two more volumes of CWDD! I hope there is more Biblical material in those. I have benefited immensely from the first four volumes, especially vols. 2 and 3.


Leave a Reply

Categories