Posted by: mattcolvin | November 21, 2013

Reviewing Original Language Bibles


One of my guilty pleasures is the Bible Design Blog, where J. Mark Betrand reviews various, and often very expensive, Bibles. I don’t own any of the Bibles he reviews, since single-column smythe-sewn editions bound in real leather are a bit out of my price range, and I’m too hard on books to justify the expense. I’ve often wished he would review more Greek and Hebrew Bibles, but this week, I looked at my shelf and realized that I ought to do it myself.

I do own 9 volumes published by the Deutsche Bibelgesellschaft: the Greek New Testament with Dictionary (UBS4); its accompanying Textual Commentary by B. Metzger; Biblia Hebraica Stuttgartensia in both large (cloth) and small (leatherette) sizes; the Biblia Sacra Vulgata (Weber/Gryson); Rahlfs’ Septuaginta; Nestle-Aland’s Novum Testamentum Graece (NA27); and the Synopsis Quattuor Evangeliorum. I also have ordered the recently published Biblia Graeca (NA28 + Rahlfs/Hanhart LXX in one volume). I also plan to review Zondervan’s Reader’s Hebrew Bible.

So that’s what’s eventually to be posted. I will kick things off with my review of the Vulgate right after this.

20131121-224816.jpg

Leave a Reply

Categories